Honoring the Ones Who Did More Than Just Try

Home / Conferences / 2013 Spring conference / Honoring the Ones Who Did More Than Just Try

Do… Or Do Not — There is No Try.

These were Yoda’s famous words in The Empire Strikes Back. At the May 4 Awards Luncheon, Cindy Jones was our Yoda and the toastmaster.

Our members and clubs received many education awards, ribbons and Toastmasters store gift certificates. Dean Lampman suggested  a good way to spend the money is to purchase a club banner with the new logo. Be prepared for our next conference with your new banner!

With over 500 outstanding officer nominations, the selected outstanding officers for the period of July through December 2012 are:

President — Elizabeth White, Lake Vista Toastmasters
She has demonstrated exceptional leadership to her club. She offers great advice and encourages you to go for it and hit a home run!!! How awesome is that, to have someone that practices what they preach. Membership has increased, a larger meeting room was needed and an increase in educational awards has been accomplished. She has been a great motivator for the club. 

VP Education — Sharon Johnson, Lake Vista Toastmasters
She is highly devoted to the mission of Toastmasters and committed to the Toastmasters process. Because we are a corporate club with a lot of members who wish to speak, she leads a monthly speak-a-thon initiative to give more members the opportunity to speak.

VP Membership — Mike Higgins, Tarrant County Toastmasters

He champions his club by being an ambassador for recruiting new members and giving us ideas for introducing Toastmasters to others. He is rather reserved and a soft-spoken individual, but don’t be fooled; he is dedicated to Toastmasters and his club.

VP Public Relations — Monica Willenburg, Tarrant County Toastmasters
She has keen organizational skills and a can-do attitude. She revolutionized the Club website and kept it updated and pertinent to the club activities. When inquiries come into the club, she quickly responds to them and sends out emails to the officers of the club.

Mike Higgins, Monica Willenburg, Shelly Aman,
Vicki Haynes and Elizabeth White

Secretary — Carolyn Vu, Grand Prairie Toastmasters
She is one of those rare exceptions. She performed her role by upholding the Toastmasters promise. She is truly a dedicated, inspirational and  hard-working club member. Her professionalism and warmth was a strength to the club.

Treasurer — Shelly Aman, Colleyville Club
She has been a bright shining diamond to the club. She has been the financial voice and wise counsel during our executive officer meetings. She has kept the club’s finances in the black and is the voice of reason to keep us from going beyond our means.

Sergeant at Arms — Vicki Haynes, Las Colinas Communicators
She was fantastic. She was the ultimate team player. The meeting room was arranged prior to the arrival of members and guests. That was very comforting to the Toastmasters each week and gave a positive, professional image of the meeting. She stepped in and assumed duties when members were unable to attend.

Let’s not forget to thank our Outstanding Officer Awards Committee. They spent a lot of time in reviewing the nominations. They were a great team who worked on short deadlines and made it happen.

Thanks to all of the volunteers who made this luncheon run smoothly.

Mary Walker
Awards Chair

Past Outstanding Officers honorees